Rutherford County TN Sheriff's Office Masthead

940 New Salem Highway • Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37129 • (615) 898-7720

Click here to view a message from Sheriff Robert Arnold


Find us on facebook

Formal Complaint Concerning RCSO Personnel (PDF)

– CALL 911 –

(615) 898-7720

Poison Control Center

Rutherford County
Sheriff's Office
940 New Salem Highway
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
(615) 898-7720

Deputy Chief Virgil Gammon

Deputy Chief Virgil M. Gammon is the third in command at the Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office with Sheriff Robert Arnold and Chief Deputy Randy Garrett, who supervise more than 400 employees in the patrol, criminal investigations, narcotics, interstate crime enforcement, adult detention center, school resource officers, warrants and records, communications and judicial/court security.

“We strive to make citizens feel safe in their homes. Our goal is to provide improved services for our citizens while trying to spend taxpayers’ money wisely.”

Chief Gammon has over 40 years of law enforcement experience. His career began in 1974 in the U.S. Army when assigned to the 139th Military Police Company in Fort Benning, Ga. He joined the Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office in 1977 as a patrol officer. He transferred to the Criminal Investigations Division where he worked his way up to supervisor. He was promoted to Colonel and later Chief Deputy of the department.

He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of the State of New York, Regents College in 1992. At the Sheriff’s Office, he completed more than 30 specialized courses in management, investigative studies and procedures in law enforcement. He graduated from the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Va., and graduated from the Leadership Rutherford class in 2006.

Chief Gammon was selected Officer of the Year for the Murfreesboro Exchange Club and was named Outstanding Young Public Service for the Murfreesboro Jaycees in 1986.

He served with the U.S. Army Reserves and the Tennessee National Guard where was named Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year in 1997.